Skip to content

Reports and Awards

The Royal Western Australian Historical Society is a non-profit organization dedicated to the study, preservation, and promotion of Western Australia’s history. One of the society’s main activities is the publication of reports and research papers, which are produced by members and researchers interested in Western Australian history. These reports cover a wide range of topics, from the state’s indigenous heritage to its colonial past, and are an important source of information for scholars and history enthusiasts alike.

Reports and Awards


Annual Reports (latest confirmed)


Fellows of the Society:

  • Emeritus Professor R T Appleyard AM MA PhD HonOLitt FASSA;
  • Mrs M Bignell OAM BA 
  • Dr S Errington PhD 
  • Dr D Erickson PhD 
  • Dr M H Henderson AM PhD 
  • Mr J H M Honniball MA 
  • Dr L Layman OAM PhD FFAHS 
  • Mrs R Marchant James OAM FFAW(WA);
  • Ms M L McCall AM FFAHS;
  • Miss M L Medcalf OAM BA DipEd FLAA FFAHS 
  • Hon. Robert Nicholson AO KCSJ FAAL BA LLB MA LLM HonLLD;
  • Dr P Statham Drew PhD 

Honorary Life Memberships:

  • Mrs Lexie Beardmore 
  • Mrs Evalyn Beaumont
  • Mr Ron Bodycoat AM
  • Mr Peter Bridge AM
  • Dr Fiona Bush OAM
  • Mrs Win Can
  • Father Edward Doncaster
  • Mrs Sally Anne Hasluck OAM
  • Mr Malcolm Higham
  • Mrs Val Hutch
  • Mrs Val Krantz
  • Ms Jill Maughan
  • Ms Margaret Medcalf OAM
  • Ms M L McCall
  • Mrs Hilaire Natt
  • Mrs Jo Pearson

Merit Awards

  • Mrs Val Hutch
  • Mrs Val Krantz
  • Mrs June Shenton-Turner 
  • Mr Robert Woollett 

Affiliated Societies Merit Awards

  • 2010 Carnamah Historical Society (Inaugural award)
  • 2011 Esperance Historical Society
  • 2012 Ravensthorpe Historical Society
  • 2013 Eastern Goldfields Historical Society
  • 2014 Historical Society of Cockburn
  • 2015 Irwin Districts Historical Society
  • 2016 Kunnunarra Historical Society
  • 2017 Murray Districts Historical Society
  • 2018 Toodyay Historical Society
  • 2019 Kalamunda & Districts Historical Society
  • 2021 Bridgetown Historical Society
  • 2022 Margaret River & Districts Historical Society
  • 2023 Maylands Historical and Peninsula Association