The Katanning Historical Society was founded in 1937 and is believed to be the oldest affiliated society in W.A. The first museum was established in the Town Hall after Katanning’s Jubilee. The museum was moved to the old school at the corner of Taylor and Amabel Street in 1965.
In addition to the museum building (pictured above), the site now consists of the Dongolocking School building, Band Hall and the original Methodist Church with ante rooms which serve as a storage area and Administration office. Although membership consists of a few it is functional with a President, Secretary, Treasurer and Curator. Membership is $15 with a $10 membership being available for “Friends of the Historical Society.” Meetings are held on the 1st Sunday of each month at 4:00p at the centre. Shire support is now encouraging.
The aim of the Society is to collect and preserve the history of the district. Archives include documents of Local, State and National Significance. The Museum is run by volunteers and buildings are open on request and by appointment. The public and school groups are encouraged to visit. Pioneer Day celebrations are held each year, involving local identities and historic buildings and worthy occasions are also selected and featured.
Katanning is a Multicultural Centre as shown by a parade of flags at the entrance of the town.
Historic buildings, including Kobeelya, the stately home of F.H.Piesse, Roller Flour Mill- currently under reconstruction and the Christmas/Cocos Mosque are of great interest.
The Roller Flour Mill will be a living museum with luxury accommodation and a Dome Cafe which will be of local significance and tourist attraction. Added attention is being paid to ensure that the history of this iconic building is maintained.